Finding Myself #2

FIRST: MERRY CHRISTMAS CHILDREN!

Now, on to finding myself. Today, I am gonna introduce you guys to my favorite thing in the world: ANXIETY!!! YAY. As you may know, I have bad anxiety. I am one of the most anxious person you will ever meet. Thankfully, though, I have some ways to deal with said anxiety and I am going to share them with you. Now, here is a note: Some of these things may not work for you. Everyone is their own person. If you have your own tips for dealing with anxiety, share them in the comments below! Now on with the tips!

No. 1: Deep breathing. With deep breathing, you need to practice this even when you don’t feel anxious. Breathe in for 7 seconds, hold it for 4 seconds, and breathe out for 8 seconds. Its called a lot of different things, but I call it 748.

No.2: Stress toys. These things are miracles. I love these. Fidget toys are fun to mess with when you’re bored and personally release my anxiety. I also carry around a stress ball just in case.

No. 3: Music. I listen to music when I am anxious because it distracts me. Distractions are helpful when anxious because you focus more on what you are doing then what you are thinking about. I also can use books, movies, and play-doh. I know that last one is a little odd, but it helps.

No. 4: Mindfulness. At first, I hated this technique because it was annoying and tedious. Now, I have practiced it more often. When I’m anxious, I will point out and say OUT LOUD 5 things I hear, 4 things I feel, 3 things I see, 2 things I can smell, and 1 thing I can taste. It is a distraction and has helped ground me when I am stressed.

No. 5: Jokes.

No.6: Counting backward from 100.

No.7: Positive self talk and only focusing on today.

So, this is all I have for now. I hope this has helped you with any anxiety you may have. I’ll talk to you guys later. Goodbye guys, gals, and nonbinary pals. Have a good christmas.

Published by Danni

I am a writer and an artist. I am currently working on the story, The World From April, which is one of my best stories yet. I enjoy art, writing, theatre, and DnD. I also give writing tips. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started